Article Image Alt Text

Library board membership temporarily reduced to 5

Police jurors are looking to fill a pair of vacancies on the Acadia Parish Library Board of Control.
Meanwhile, jurors took action to “officially” reduce the number of board members from seven to five. That lowers the number of members needed to constitute a quorum so that action can be taken at the board meetings.
Ted Landry, director of the Acadia Parish Library, requested the reduction in board membership during last week’s police jury committee meetings. He explained that one member of the board had recently moved out of state and that another member could not attend due to medical complications.
“We’re having trouble reaching a quorum at our meetings,” he said.
Landry added that he also was having trouble finding citizens to fill the seats on the board.
By state statute, the board’s membership is set at “a minimum of five and a maximum of seven.”
During the jury’s regular meeting Tuesday, Charles King took exception to Landry’s search for board members.
“Mr. Landry serves as director at the pleasure of the board,” said King, a former attorney. “To have him find members to serve on the board would constitute a conflict of interest.”
King recommended that the jury’s secretary-treasurer, Bryan Borill, contact the remaining five board member for recommendations.
If that process is unsuccessful, King suggested that jurors be charged with finding replacements.
Jurors generally agreed to seek volunteers to fill the vacancies. When the seats are filled, the board membership will return to seven.
In a related matter, the jury unanimously agreed to re-appoint Sandra Henry to the board of control.
In other action at the October meeting, the police jury:
• approved a request by Jeffery Toups to open cut Alfa Romero Road in the Basile area due to an emergency to get water to his residence;
• authorized President Chance Henry to approve the contract for Karen Zerangue’s 2021 contract for Nutrition Services at the Acadia Parish Community Clinics for compliance with the WIC program;
• appointed Paul Miller Jr. and Barrett Schexnayder to the Egan Fire Department Commissions Board;
• appointed Lee Lawrence to the Acadia Parish Tourist Commission Board;
• moved the November committee meetings from Nov. 3 to Nov. 4 in light of the presidential election on Nov. 3;
• authorized the president to sign a resolution for the annual Certification of Compliance with the State of Louisiana Off-System Bridge Replacement Program; and
• approved overtime compensation for employees due to hurricanes Laura and Delta.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
602 N. Parkerson Ave, Crowley, LA 70526
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
108 North Adama, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793